For the safety of our visitors and employees, our shelter will be open by appointment only until further notice. This will significantly limit the amount of people in our building during scheduled adoption hours.  

If you have questions, please call 


About Us


A Winning Team

Our amazing team of employees and volunteers work very hard to take good care of our animals.  If you are interesting in volunteering, please contact the shelter to learn more about volunteer opportunities.  

Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Diane Boyd, President

Patty Jaeger, Past-President

Karanel Larson, Vice President

Stacey Meyer, Secretary

Sue VanMeter, Treasurer


Eric Benne

Lori Brockett

Angi Campbell

Kaitlyn Caston

Dr. Becky Gibilisco, DVM

Tim Larson

Kari McCoy

Zach Russell 

Kristy Wellman

Tom Schnirring, Honorary

Shelter Employees

Kandi Hillyer, Director

KC Shoemaker, Assistant Manager

Karri Swartzlander, Adoption Coordinator

Angie Beard, Kennel Attendant

Brenda Mutchler, Kennel Attendant

Steve Shoemaker, Kennel Attendant

Jessie Tanner, Kennel Attendant

Hunter Cornic, Kennel Attendant

Valerie Ried, Kennel Attendant


Our Mission


The Des Moines County Humane Society is dedicated to the welfare of all animals in Des Moines County, IA. With the financial and volunteer support of community members, DMCHS operates an adoption program within the city-owned Burlington Animal Shelter at 2000 N. Roosevelt Avenue.

Thousands of homeless companion animals have been saved from being euthanized and found new families thanks to the support of community members like you. DMCHS is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. It receives no tax dollars to support activities. The shelter depends entirely on donations, contributions, gifts and memorials.

2019 DMCHS Report

Check out our 2019 Year in Review!

2019 Annual Report (pdf)


Join Our Mailing List